Research at MPI CEC

Research Groups

Inorganic Spectroscopy

The Department of Inorganic Spectroscopy focuses on the development and application of advanced spectroscopic tools for understanding processes in heterogeneous, molecular, and biological catalysis.


Group leaders

Dr. James Birrell
Energy Converting Enzymes

Dr. Ragnar Björnsson
Computational Chemistry

Dr. Laure Decamps
Biochemistry of Metalloproteins

Dr. Sergey Peredkov
X-ray Spectroscopy Instrumentation

Dr. Christina Römelt
Chemical Synthesis

Dr. Olaf Rüdiger
Proteins on electrodes

Dr. Thomas Weyhermüller
Chemical Synthesis, X-ray structure analysis

Heterogeneous Reactions

The focus here lies on carbon-based materials which can play an active part in oxygen formation reaction. In parallel, spectroscopic methods help to understand biological systems and develop efficient analogues.


Group leaders

Dr. Mark Greiner
Surface Structure Analysis

Dr. Saskia Heumann
Carbon Synthesis and Applications

Dr. Axel Knop-Gericke

Dr. Anna Mechler

Dr. Holger Ruland
Catalytic Technology

Molecular Catalysis

The fundamental science in the Division of Molecular Catalysis contributes to the development of technologies for the conversion of renewable energy and feedstocks to sustainable fuels and chemical products.


Group leaders

Dr. Alexis Bordet
Multifunctional Catalytic Systems

PD Dr. Andreas Vorholt
Multiphase Catalysis

Dr. Christophe Werlé
Organometallic Electrocatalysis