ERNST HAAGE PRIZE

FOR CHEMISTRY

AWARD CFRFMONY NOVEMBER 15, 2024

KEYNOTE LECTURE

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion

Siegfried R. Waldvogel is an internationally renowned chemist and a leading expert in electrosynthesis, a field dedicated to transforming waste streams into valuable chemicals through the use of electricity.

His work plays a crucial role in advancing sustainable practices within the pharmaceutical and chemical industries. As Director at the MPI CEC since December 2023, he has established the department of Electrosynthesis, which has since focused on innovative, climate-neutral chemical processes. Already in his previous position as a full professor at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Siegfried Waldvogel focused his research on the entire spectrum of electrolysis development, from novel screening methods to upscaling of electrosynthetic conversions.

The Ernst Haage Foundation

The launch of the Ernst Haage Foundation in 2006 for the support of young researchers was possible thanks to a generous private donation. The foundation's Board of Trustees, composed of a representative of the founder as well as the Executive Board of the Max Planck Institutes in Mülheim, honors excellent research achievements by young scientists in the field of chemistry each year with the Ernst Haage Prize. The Foundation is named after Ernst Haage (1901-1968), a Mülheim entrepreneur who was closely associated with research at the Max Planck Institutes in the city from 1932 onwards through his scientific and technical instruments and components.





Ernst Haage Prize Winners 2024



Ernst Haage National Prize

The dynamic restructuring of functional nanomaterials under realistic conditions is what **Barbara A. J. Lechner** is particularly interested in. Among other things, she and her team use a scanning tunnelling microscope with high temporal and spatial resolution directly in gas mixtures for their experiments. They are investigating how the structure of metal particles and oxide carrier materials changes and influences the function of the material.

Lechner earned her doctorate in physics at the University of Cambridge and worked as a postdoctoral researcher at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, CA, before becoming a group leader at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). In 2020, Lechner was appointed Rudolf Mößbauer Professor and now heads a research group for functional nanomaterials at TLIM

Ernst Haage Prize for PhD Students & Post-Doctoral Fellows

Sheng-Hsiang Lin is a post-doctoral researcher at the MPI for Chemical Energy Conversion in the Molecular Catalysis department of Prof. Dr. Walter Leitner.

Tim Schulte is a doctoral researcher at the MPI für Kohlenforschung in the department of Organic Synthesis led by Prof. Dr. Tobias Ritter.

Ernst Haage Prize for Apprentices

Hinrich Kludig, industrial mechanic at MPI für Kohlenforschung

Elisabeth Glöckler, chemical laboratory assistant at MPI for Chemical Energy Conversion

November 15, 2024 starting 9:30 am

Welcome and Introduction

Prof. Dr. Serena DeBeer, Chair of Ernst Haage Foundation

Keynote Lecture

Prof. Dr. Siegfried R. Waldvogel

Electrifying synthesis for resource efficiency – from small to big

Presentation of the Ernst Haage Prize for Apprentices

Coffee Break

Presentation of the Ernst Haage Prize for PhD Students & Post-Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Sheng-Hsiang Lin

Magnetic Induction Heating in Catalysis: Toward Adaptive Catalytic Systems for Challenging Hydrogenation and Hydrodeoxygenation Reactions

Tim Schulte

Ruthenium Catalysis leads to Safer Aryldiazonium Chemistry

Presentation of the National Ernst Haage Prize

Prof. Dr. Barbara A. J. Lechner

Towards an atomic-scale understanding of chemical reactions on surfaces

Reception

Music: Gero Padberg